Recently, I went to the grocery store and, yet again, came home with the wrong dessert to please all my roommates.
It is not that they are picky by choice, but that — as is becoming increasingly common — they have a food intolerance, allergies or other kinds of dietary restrictions. This has become quite challenging for me, as I am someone who loves to bring people together to cook, eat and enjoy. With all the foods I cannot use, I have to be a little more conscientious about the ingredients I choose.
However, I think being aware of what we are putting in our meals and into our bodies, even if it is because we are avoiding particular foods for health, is another step closer to the mindful eating we could all benefit from.
The challenge with dietary restrictions is that some options are permanently removed and, therefore, variety in the diet must be sought after with greater effort. With the proper insight, these seemingly restrictive diets can open peoples’ minds to other options they may not have thought of before.
Gluten-free diets have become more common due to Celiac disease, which is a gluten intolerance and gluten sensitivity. Gluten is part of a protein that occurs naturally in wheat, rye, barley and triticale, which is a hybrid of wheat and rye.
However, not all grains contain gluten. It is commonly found in breads, pastas, baked goods, cosmetics, medications and even some vitamins. Regular soy sauce found in restaurants also contains gluten. Essentially, gluten is found in many of the everyday foods we consume. So, what is a gluten-free foodie supposed to do with all these “off-limits” foods? Are pizzas, bread and morning breakfasts gone forever? Absolutely not!
With the increase of people discovering they have a gluten intolerance, there has been a significant increase in food that caters to gluten-free diets. This surge of options has provided more accessibility to gluten-free foods.
Though there are many gluten-free options, often times the products feature primarily corn, soy or rice substitutes. People eating a gluten-free diet need to supplement a variety of other grains to maintain a healthy lifestyle. Some safe grains to supplement are: sorghum, buckwheat, amaranth, millet, quinoa, teff, wild rice and montina. Oats are also considered gluten-free by some, but very few companies provide oats that haven’t been contaminated by other gluten-containing crops.
Now, these may seem like rather elusive grains, but they are gaining popularity, as well as accessibility.
Recipes using these grains are becoming more prevalent in magazines, cooking shows and back-of-the-box party tips. What’s even better is they are easy to cook as well.
One of the dangers that a gluten-free diet has, however, is a lack of heart-healthy whole grains. This is why it’s important to supplement with other whole grain choices.
Many people who do not have a gluten-intolerance, but want to take part in a gluten-free diet, should be cautious. Typically those without a dietary need that want to eat gluten-free foods overload on simple carbohydrates. Eating too many gluten-free processed foods tend to cause the consumer to gain weight and feel less energized. However, a gluten-free diet that does not contain overly processed carbohydrates, and contains equal amounts of protein and vegetables, can lead to a healthier lifestyle.
What I am trying to get at is if you can tolerate gluten, eat whole grains to keep you full longer and more energized. But if you can’t, don’t fret. There are plenty of delicious and nutritious options out there for you.